Skip to Main Content
NAU Cline Library logo

SOC 355W - Library Guide

Searching databases simultaneously

Start your search using the databases listed below.

All three of these databases are accessible from the same platform, so you can search them simultaneously.  

  1. Click on any of the database links below to access the search page. 
  2. On the search page, notice the search boxes at the top and click on the words Choose Databases, located above the search boxes.  
  3. A pop-up window will appear with a list of databases arranged alphabetically. 
  4. Select the databases to add them to your search and then click OK in the lower right hand corner of the pop-up window.  
  5. You will then return to the search screen where you can type in your keywords.   

Selecting Keywords

 

Step One:  Consider two to three concepts that help to explain or directly relate to your research topic. Use these broad concepts to identify keywords. See search tips below. Use the chart below as a guide.

Topic/Question:

Can altruistic behavior help break cycles of addiction?

Concepts/keywords:

Altruism

addiction

 

Consider alternative keywords for the concepts

Altruism

Addiction

empathy

Drug addition

Compassion

Drug rehabilitation

 

 

 

Step Two:  Develop a search strategy using the keywords and/or phrases.  Less is more; start with a few keywords and if necessary build a more comprehensive search.  See search tips below. 

 

Step Three: Recognize that databases have similar features, such as “limiters” or ways to narrow the search results (e.g., date of publication, peer-reviewed journal, and full-text).   Apply limiters if necessary.

 

Step Four: View the results.  If the search strategy did not return any results try changing the keywords. 

 

Search tips (EBSCOhost)

Use

Purpose

  Quotation marks

Exact phrase searching

  AND

Combine terms

  NOT

Omit or ignore a term

  OR

Expand the search to include either or both terms

  Parenthesis

Structure a Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) search

  *

Truncate a term or complete a phrase

  ?

Wildcard used to replace a single letter

  #

Wildcard used for alternate spellings

  N and a number

Finds terms near x terms

  W and a number

Finds terms within x terms in order

Try not to use punctuation

Databases ignore these unless it is a question mark

Try not to use stop words

Databases ignore these