Research Guides: A Guide to Library Resources for Ethnic Studies : Recommended Resources

Article and Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database including citation and abstract indexing, full text access to many journals, and author profiles.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Index contains prominent journal titles covering culture, history, literature, religion and other areas of related study in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern studies with coverage dating back to 1988.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
An expansive archive of materials relating to indigenous law, including hundreds of treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more.
HeinOnline’s Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law* was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that indigenous peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States of America. With nearly 3,800 titles and more than 1.5 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historic materials. Included in the database are hundreds of treaties, treaty-related publications, tribal codes, constitutions, federal case law, government reports, scholarly works, and the entirety of Title 25 (Indians) of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.

*Formerly known as the American Indian Law Collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.

Google Scholar (via Cline Library)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

News and newspaper databases

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses and publishers.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

Library catalogs

Quick Search This link opens in a new window
Search across most journals, books, ebooks and more.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.

Document Delivery

Create an InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services account to request books, book chapters or the full text of an article if it isn't immediately available from the library.

Document Delivery Services

Research Help

Schedule an appointment
Schedule a 15 or 30 minute virtual appointment with the subject librarian.
Send an email
Email the subject librarian.