In NexisUni - all secondary sources are categorized in the Law Reviews and Journals filter from the Advanced Search.
Other law dictionaries include Ballentine's Law Dictionary (3rd edition) in Nexis Uni but no longer updated.
American Law Reports (a/k/a ALR) is a secondary source that contains brief articles (called annotations). ALR annotations cover specific topics that in great detail. Access is available through HathiTrust.
Legal encyclopedias are secondary sources that provide a general overview of almost every legal subject. The two major sets of U.S. legal encyclopedias are American Jurisprudence 2d (a/k/a AmJur) and Corpus Juris Secundum (a/k/a CJS).
Law reviews are considered the main forum for legal scholarship in the U.S. academic legal community.
Generally the articles included in these publications are written by law professors, judges, legal scholars, and law students. These articles contain a wealth of information, including footnotes that cite to primary authority and other secondary resources.
School Law and the Public Schools by
In a concise, convenient paperback format, this book provides contemporary and practical coverage of relevant legal issues that affect educational leaders in the 21st century. This book is written to provide practical knowledge to practicing and prospective educational leaders, students of educational leadership, and policy makers at all educational levels. Legal issues are covered thoroughly yet succinctly, and are discussed in a way that is informative, entertaining, and useful so that the audience can effectively perform professional duties within the boundaries of constitutional, statutory, and case law.
Making Civil Rights Law by
From the 1930s to the early 1960s civil rights law was made primarily through constitutional litigation. Before Rosa Parks could ignite a Montgomery Bus Boycott, the Supreme Court had to strike down the Alabama law which made segregated bus service required by law; before Martin Luther Kingcould march on Selma to register voters, the Supreme Court had to find unconstitutional the Southern Democratic Party's exclusion of African-Americans; and before the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Supreme Court had to strike down the laws allowing for the segregation ofpublic graduate schools, colleges, high schools, and grade schools.Making Civil Rights Law provides a chronological narrative history of the legal struggle, led by Thurgood Marshall and the NAACP Legal Defense Fund, that preceded the political battles for civil rights. Drawing on interviews with Thurgood Marshall and other NAACP lawyers, as well as new informationabout the private deliberations of the Supreme Court, Tushnet tells the dramatic story of how the NAACP Legal Defense Fund led the Court to use the Constitution as an instrument of liberty and justice for all African-Americans. He also offers new insights into how the justices argued amongthemselves about the historic changes they were to make in American society.Making Civil Rights Law provides an overall picture of the forces involved in civil rights litigation, bringing clarity to the legal reasoning that animated this "Constitutional revolution", and showing how the slow development of doctrine and precedent reflected the overall legal strategy ofThurgood Marshall and the NAACP.