Database of full text from eBooks in in nursing, clinical medicine, allied health, dentistry and other as health-related disciplines.
Select athletic training books available at NAU
(eBook) Braddom's Rehabilitation Care: a Clinical Handbook by David X. Cifu; Henry L. LewConcise and portable, Braddom's Clinical Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, by Drs. David X. Cifu and Henry L. Lew, gives you dependable, up-to-date content in a handbook format ideally suited for use at the bedside or in outpatient clinics. This quick reference covers the everyday topics you need - assistive devices and orthoses, spasticity, pediatric, adult, and geriatric care, pain management, outcome measures, and much more - all derived from the most trusted name in the field of PM&R. Reader-friendly format with succinct, templated chapters for ease of use. Authoritative content derived from the #1 comprehensive reference in the field: Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. An ideal resource for the entire rehabilitation team as a quick reference or study guide. Highlights key concepts spanning the full spectrum of rehabilitation medicine to help optimize outcomes for patients with a range of chronic diseases, impairments, and disabilities. Online videos provide guidance on essential techniques including Muscle Energy Technique; Paraffin Bath; Monophasic Arterial Doppler Waveform; Feeding Training with Putty; Lachman Test; and Carbidopa- and Levodopa-Induced Dyskinesia. Includes eSlides complied by internationally renowned experts to summarize key teaching points and clinical pearls. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017
(eBook) Communication for Healthcare Professionals by Michael P. PaganoPromotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of health communication According to the Joint Commission, over 75% of all serious medical errors in this country result from miscommunication. Based in these adverse realities and the author philosophy that communication is a clinical skill integral to effective health care delivery, this comprehensive text addresses thetheories and abilities needed by all health care providers. The only text written specifically for students of nursing, medicine, physical therapy, pharmacy, dentistry, physician assistants and opticians, this book incorporates recommendations for specific multimedia, suggestions for class discussion and interactive case studies to provide a rich and multi-perspective learning experience for gaining optimal expertise in effective health communication The author underscores the importance of developing and maintaining successful relationships with patients, peers, and colleagues as a cornerstone ofeffective health care outcomes. With an emphasis on interactive learning, the text utilizescommunication theories to analyze verbal and non-verbalbehaviors in diverse health care contexts and assess which are more effective and why. Summaries at the end of each chapter discuss health communicationoutcomes. Chapters cover interpersonal and gendered communication, provider-patient communication, intercultural communication, organizationalcommunication, team communication, malpractice, palliative care, end-of-life communication, and many other topics. Key Features: Fosters a patient-centered, interdisciplinary, multidimensional learning experience for health care students Recommends experiential learning using videos, films, and related discussion exercises Presents case study role-plays Provides companion case study resource to enhance learning objectives
Publication Date: 2016
(eBook) Palpation and Assessment in Manual Therapy : Learning the Art and Refining Your Skills by Leon Chaitow and Sasha ChaitowThis is the 4th edition of a well known book from a highly respected author. It has been designed to help manual therapy students and practitioners to understand and acquire the palpatory skills which are essential for evaluating and deciding on appropriate treatment for musculoskeletal dysfunction. The accurate interpretation of palpatory findings is difficult and comes with experience but this book aims to increase the awareness of how to palpate and what is being felt. It is supported by a DVD with video clips and commentary by the author to demonstrate and explain the techniques described in the text.
Publication Date: 2017
(eBook) Sports Medicine Essentials by Jim CloverCorrelating with NATA Standards, SPORTS MEDICINE ESSENTIALS: CORE CONCEPTS IN ATHLETIC TRAINING & FITNESS INSTRUCTION, 3rd Edition introduces essential skills in Sports Medicine, along with its growing number of career choices. Key topics address fitness assessment, conditioning, emergency preparedness, injury management, therapeutic modalities, nutrition, ethical and legal considerations, and much more. Students will explore careers in fitness instruction, athletic training, exercise physiology, sports management, and even physical therapy, while practicing important, job-related skills. More than a text, this unique hands-on learning tool asks students to perform essential skills, such as taping injuries, researching sports medicine supplies and their costs, and even forming a mock safety committee to mitigate injury risks to athletes. SPORTS MEDICINE ESSENTIALS: CORE CONCEPTS IN ATHLETIC TRAINING & FITNESS INSTRUCTION, 3rd Edition gives students VIP access to the fast-paced world of Sports Medicine in both print and interactive eBook formats.
Publication Date: 2015
Athletic Training Exam Review by Lynn Van Ost; Karen Lew; Karen ManfreWith more than 17 years of guiding students, Athletic Training Exam Review: A Student Guide to Success emerges with a new Sixth Edition to lead the way in exam preparation. Always evolving, the Sixth Edition includes a new chapter on evidence-based practice, 170 new clinical questions, and is updated to reflect all BOC changes. Combined with the ample supply of test questions, special tests assessment videos, and scenario-based testlets, athletic training students can approach exam day with confidence. Athletic Training Exam Review: A Student Guide to Success, Sixth Edition provides detailed reasoning behind the correct answer that will assist students in highlighting their individual strengths and weaknesses, as well as features a variety of changes that reflect current trends in academic testing, patient evaluation, and critical thinking. Combining the experiences and knowledge of Lynn Van Ost, Dr. Karen Lew Feirman, and Karen Manfre, students can expect a comprehensive review tool to aid in the study portion of their athletic training education. Inside the text you will find: * Multiple choice questions--over 1,150 questions * True/false questions--95 questions * Applied decision making questions--over 25 realistic clinical scenario questions * Skills assessment questions--over 25 questions about realistic tests and procedures * Critical thinking questions--over 50 scenario-based problems Faculty will welcome the addition of ancillary materials that include sample tests to be used in the classroom at www.efacultylounge.com. Online testing components include: * Multiple choice questions--5 exams of 150 randomly selected questions from an online bank of 450 questions * True/false questions--5 exams of 30 randomly selected questions from an online bank of 95 questions * Video segments--13 special tests assessment videos that offer 3 questions to enhance the studying process * Testlet questions--39 scenario-based questions of common or related items, progress through each scenario with 4 sets of multiple choice questions * Identification questions--12 anatomically based questions incorporating a "drag and drop" feature to reinforce the learning process * Applied decision making questions--3 tests (2 problems each) of clinical scenario examples--apply what you have learned to solve the situation * Critical thinking questions--10 problem-based questions related to medical conditions--narrow down the answer choices to the correct diagnosis With the new and updated Athletic Training Exam Review: A Student Guide to Success, students can feel more confident than ever utilizing the Sixth Edition for BOC exam preparation.
Publication Date: 2017
Evidence-Based Sports Medicine by Domhnall MacAuley (Editor); Thomas Best (Editor)This second edition of the popular book "Evidence-based Sports Medicine" builds on the features that made the first edition such a valuable text and provides a completely up-to-date tool for sports medicine physicians, family practitioners and orthopedic surgeons. Updated to take into account new evidence from systematic reviews and controlled trials, "Evidence-based Sports Medicine" is a unique reference book on the optimum management of sports-related conditions. This second edition: contains sections on acute injury, chronic conditions, and injuries to the upper limb, groin and knee and to the lower leg pays increased attention to the important and emerging area of injury prevention features thoroughly revised methodology sections within each chapter, reflecting changes in technique and application MCQs and essay questions that allow readers to continually assess their knowledge and understanding of the topics covered Additional information and updates will be available upon publication from www.evidbasedsportsmedicine.com
Publication Date: 2010
Physical Rehabilitation of the Injured Athlete E-Book by James R. Andrews; Gary L. Harrelson; Kevin E. WilkPhysical Rehabilitation of the Injured Athlete is a medical reference book that equips you to apply today's hottest strategies in non-operative sports rehabilitation, so you can help your patients return to play as quickly and fully as possible. Send your players back to the field fast with the latest strategies in non-operative sports rehabilitation. Get balanced, dependable guidance on sports rehabilitation from a multidisciplinary author team that contributes perspectives from orthopaedics and sports medicine, athletic training, and physical therapy. Ensure effective treatment planning with a stronger emphasis on evidence-based practice. Master the latest with brand-new chapters on Developing Treatment Pathways, Biomechanical Implications in Shoulder and Knee Rehabilitation, Temporomandibular Rehabilitation, Thigh Rehabilitation, Gait Assessment, Functional Movement Assessment, and Plyometric Training Drills.
Publication Date: 2012
Post-Exercise Recovery: Fundamental and Interventional Physiology by Sergej M. OstojicPhysiological responses after maximal and submaximal exercise are routinely monitored in a plethora of diseases (e.g. cardiovascular diseases, cancer, diabetes, asthma, neuromuscular disorders), and normal populations (e.g. athletes, youth, elderly), while slower or irregular post-exercise recovery usually indicates poor health and/or low fitness level. Abnormal post-exercise recovery (as assessed via blunted post-exercise heart rate dynamics) helps to predict the presence and severity of coronary artery disease, while differences in recovery outcomes in athletes might discriminate between fit and unfit individuals. Disturbances in post-exercise recovery might be due to acute or persistent changes in: (1) adaptive responses mediated by the autonomic nervous system and vasodilator substances, (2) cellular bioenergetics, and/or (3) muscular plasticity. Preliminary evidence suggests possible role of time-dependent modulation of nitric oxide synthase and adenosine receptors during post-exercise recovery, yet no molecular attributes of post-exercise recovery are revealed so far. Currently several markers of post-exercise recovery are used (e.g. heart rate measures, hormone profiles, biochemical and hematological indices); however none of them meets all criteria to make its use generally accepted as the gold standard. In addition, recent studies suggest that different pharmacological agents and dietary interventions, or manipulative actions (e.g. massage, cold-water immersion, compression garments, athletic training) administered before, during or immediately after exercise could positively affect post-exercise recovery. There is a growing interest to provide more evidence-based data concerning the effectiveness and safety of traditional and novel interventions to affect post-exercise recovery. The goals of this research topic are to critically evaluate the current advances on mechanisms and clinical implications of post-exercise recovery, and to summarize recent experimental data from interventional studies. This knowledge may help to identify the hierarchy of key mechanisms, and recognize methods to monitor and improve post-exercise recovery in both health and disease.