Full-text access to articles from journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
PubMed Central (PMC) is a massive, open access database from the National Institutes of Health containing free peer-reviewed publications across the fields of medicine and health sciences.
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
Create an InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services account to request books, book chapters or the full text of an article if it isn't immediately available from the library.
Being There by
This book draws on the experience of international anthropologists from Italy, the Himalayas, Northern England, Bangladesh and Indonesia. Being There examines the close relationships anthropologists establish with friends and informants in the field. Collectively they describe the varying ways in which that closeness affects the nature of the anthropologists' observation, as well as an understanding of themselves and their discipline.
Writing in Anthropology by
Writing in Anthropology is the ideal, pocket-sized manual for undergraduate students and emerging anthropologists who wish to improve their writing.Anthropology is a rapidly changing, global social science that encompasses a wide range of subfields, including archeology, cultural anthropology, biological/physical anthropology, linguistic anthropology, medical anthropology, and applied anthropology. It is also a growing field. While the economicdownturn might motivate many college students to seek majors they perceive as more practical, the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics projects job growth for anthropologists and archaeologists through 2020 at 21%, which is faster than the average for all other occupations.[1] And more undergraduate students in the United States are majoring in the social sciences and history than ever before: 175,000 students were social science and history majors in 2009-10 (the specific number of anthropology majors is not available).[2] In Canada, another 134,700 undergraduates major in Social and Behavioral Sciences and Law, 4,000 of them in anthropology.[3] Beyond serving their own majors, anthropology departments offer many courses for non-majors; indeed, at many universities it is one of the go-to fields for students seeking to fulfill both general education and W (writing-intensive) course requirements.Writing is central to the work of anthropologists and they employ a wide range of genres, including fieldnotes, ethnographies, journal articles, reviews, reports, essays, personal narratives, and grant proposals. Most anthropology courses-both those in the major and for general education and Wrequirements-include substantial writing assignments. Those assignments often align with the professional genres listed above, but perhaps more are framed as school or apprentice genres-reading responses, summaries, literature reviews, personal reflections, and research papers-designed to helpstudents process course content.While anthropologists appreciate good writing and occasionally focus explicitly on it-each year, for example, the American Anthropological Association holds a workshop on writing for graduate students and professionals-there is no compact, practical writing guide that meets the needs ofundergraduates and beginning graduate students. This Brief Guide aims to address that gap by pursuing four goals:* Introduce the major genres and habits of writing in anthropology.* Explain how reflexivity, expression, and interpretation are vital to the field.* Convey insider strategies for writing and editing in the discipline.* Describe the basic conventions for using sources; and to model a scholarly yet accessible style.
Ethnographic Writing Research by
As a research methodology, ethnography has firmly arrived - yet it remains the most misunderstood area of composition studies. Is it naturalistic research or teacher research or case-study research? What makes some research ethnographic and other research not? Where would this writing take place? In her new book, Wendy Bishop takes you through such questions to questions of your own, helping you make the most of your own ethnographic enterprises. The primary goal of Ethnographic Writing Researchis to help you conduct your day-to-day research - whether it means developing an informal classroom report, writing a dissertation prospectus and study, or participating in local, civic literacy research. Discussions are provided to help you read ethnographic work - your own and that of others - with more critical sensitivity and with more insight. In tone and content, the book is at once personal, anecdotal, and professional . . . walking you through issues posing real and imaginary research problems sharing research anecdotes offering research guidelines and checklists providing sample miniethnographies for discussion and an extensive bibliography. For those initiating small classroom-based ethnographies, this book will provide a fieldguide or a blueprint - an initial talking-through of issues and decision points. For those already involved in a deeper, long-term engagement with the methodology, the book will continue the conversation.
Ethnographically Speaking
This volume presents the latest explorations of the literary turn in ethnographic work by many of the leading people in the area. Centering on autoethnography, personal narrative, ethnographic performance, and the blending of social science and the arts, the articles collected here emphasize embodiment, experiential understanding, participatory ways of knowing, sensuous engagement, and intimate encounter. Drawing from disciplines as diverse as sociology, philosophy, performance studies, communication, family therapy, and English, the authors here demonstrate the many ways in which ethnography can be effectively conducted and expressed. The editors weave narrative and conversations surrounding the conference from which these pieces emerged into a reflexive volume which includes poetry, stories, theatre, and visual media as well as critical pieces. Accessible and jargon free, this book should excite scholars and students as to the expanding possibilities for ethnographic presentation.
Schedule a 15 or 30 minute virtual appointment with the subject librarian.
Email the subject librarian.