It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A website created for collectors of Tolkien books -- it includes descriptions and short reviews of all of Tolkien's books. For example, see this review of his short story called "Leaf by Niggle" -- the story is widely considered to be an allegory for Tolkien's writing process.
J.R.R. Tolkien was a philologist -- someone who studies how languages and words develop. This summary of Tolkien's work in philology is hosted by the Tolkien Estate -- their website also includes descriptions of Tolkien's paintings and more, but website navigation can be difficult because all of the headings are in Elvish.
Tolkien in his own words
Tolkien scholars spend a great deal of time doing archival research -- in order to better understand Tolkien's work, these scholars read the documents that Tolkien left behind, such as drafts of his books and his correspondence with fellow writers and family members.
While some archival documents have been digitized and can be found online, digitizing an archival collection requires so much time and effort that most collections are available only in the original print format.
If you were willing to travel to see Tolkien's papers, where would you start?
The Marquette Special Collections & Archives holds the original manuscripts and multiple working drafts of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and more. The collection homepage tells the story of how these papers ended up in Milwaukee!
Bodleian Library, Oxford University
Tolkien's personal and academic papers, as well as his manuscripts for later works such as the Silmarillion, are at Oxford University, where Tolkien was a professor from 1925 to 1959. Oxford's Tolkien collections are not yet online because they have centuries of material to catalog and digitize.