Skip to Main Content
NAU Cline Library logo

PSY 240 - Library Guide

Searching article databases

Several databases such as Academic Search Complete, APA PsycINFO, APA PsycARTICLES and MEDLINE are accessible from the same vendor (EBSCOhost), so you can search them simultaneously.  

  1. Click on any of the database links below to access the search page. 
  2. On the search page, notice the search boxes at the top and click on the words Choose Databases, located above the search boxes.  
  3. A pop-up window will appear with a list of databases arranged alphabetically. 
  4. Select the databases to add them to your search and then click OK in the lower right hand corner of the pop-up window.  
  5. You will then return to the search screen where you can type in your keywords.   

Choose Databases

Select a database

Once you click on APA PsycINFO you will see the EBSCOhost search page, before you start the search, click on Choose Databases. Select APA PsycARTICLES and Medline. Click OK and return to the search page.


 


Next, consider your research question or topic.  Think about two to three different keywords or concepts for your research question. Start broad in order to gather the most results. Look below to see my search strategy for any information that mentions TBI and riding bikes.  


 


After constructing a search strategy, look at the results. Do your keywords appear in the results?  

On the left hand side you can limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can also limit by publication date, methodology, article type, etc.  


 


Look in the Article Record to quickly determine the article type (is this a study?) and methodology used.  You can locate the complete article record by clicking on the title of the article.  


 

Remote services at NAU

Contact NAU ITS if you need assistance.

Document Delivery

Create an InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services account to request books, book chapters or the full text of an article if it isn't immediately available from the library. 

Research Help

Web of Science