Research Help
- Schedule an appointment
Schedule a 15 or 30 minute virtual appointment with the subject librarian.
- Send an email
Email the subject librarian.
Library catalogs
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.
Ebooks
Reshaping the Political Arena in Latin America by
Neoliberalism changed the face of Latin America and left average citizens struggling to cope in many ways. Popular sectors were especially hard hit as wages declined and unemployment increased. The backlash to neoliberalism in the form of popular protest and electoral mobilization opened space for leftist governments to emerge. The turn to left governments raised popular expectations for a second wave of incorporation. Although a growing literature has analyzed many aspects of left governments, there is no study of how the redefinition of the organized popular sectors, their allies, and their struggles have reshaped the political arena to include their interests--until now. This volume examines the role played in the second wave of incorporation by political parties, trade unions, and social movements in five cases: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, and Venezuela. The cases shed new light on a subject critical to understanding the change in the distribution of political power related to popular sectors and their interests--a key issue in the study of postneoliberalism.
ISBN: 9780822965121Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Authoritarian el Salvador by
In December 1931, El Salvador's civilian president, Arturo Araujo, was overthrown in a military coup. Such an event was hardly unique in Salvadoran history, but the 1931 coup proved to be a watershed. Araujo had been the nation's first democratically elected president, and although no one could have foreseen the result, the coup led to five decades of uninterrupted military rule, the longest run in modern Latin American history. Furthermore, six weeks after coming to power, the new military regime oversaw the crackdown on a peasant rebellion in western El Salvador that is one of the worst episodes of state-sponsored repression in modern Latin American history. Democracy would not return to El Salvador until the 1990s, and only then after a brutal twelve-year civil war. In Authoritarian El Salvador: Politics and the Origins of the Military Regimes, 1880-1940, Erik Ching seeks to explain the origins of the military regime that came to power in 1931. Based on his comprehensive survey of the extant documentary record in El Salvador's national archive, Ching argues that El Salvador was typified by a longstanding tradition of authoritarianism dating back to the early- to mid-nineteenth century. The basic structures of that system were based on patron-client relationships that wove local, regional, and national political actors into complex webs of rival patronage networks. Decidedly nondemocratic in practice, the system nevertheless exhibited highly paradoxical traits: it remained steadfastly loyal to elections as the mechanism by which political aspirants acquired office, and it employed a political discourse laden with appeals to liberty and free suffrage. That blending of nondemocratic authoritarianism with populist reformism and rhetoric set the precedent for military rule for the next fifty years.
ISBN: 0268158274Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Article and Journal Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
- SAGE Premier This link opens in a new windowNew content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.
Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
Newspapers
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowDatabase of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses and publishers.
- LexisNexis (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowU.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- The New York Times (1980-present)
Government Resources and other websites
- LANICLatin American Network Information Center
- Political Database of the AmericasHosted by Georgetown University
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS): A Resource GuideLibrary of Congress
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)Search by Administration
Also see the Guide to Countries