Skip to Main Content

Criminology & Criminal Justice | CCJ

Library Catalogs

Journal and Bibliographic Databases

Document Delivery

Create an InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services account to request books, book chapters or the full text of an article if it isn't immediately available from the library. 

When in Doubt, Ask a Librarian!

Websites

  • Uniform Crime Reports The FBI's Uniform Crime Reports include a number of reports, such as: Crime in the United States, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Hate Crime Statistics, and the National Incident-Based Reporting System.
  •  NexisUni: Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
  • Federal Bureau of Prisons: Research & Reports Links to Bureau of Prisons data, plus links to related resources.
  • ​​​​​The Sentencing ProjectThe Sentencing Project provides state-by-state statistics on prison populations and sentencing lengths.
  • NAACP Criminal Justice PageThis page from the NAACP offers information on prison populations, and a criminal justice fact sheet.
  • Congressional Research Service (CRS) ReportsThe Congressional Research Service is a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events.  These reports, intended to provide congressmen with an overview of a particular issue, are often brief and may lists of pros and cons.  The reports are not comprehensive as not all are available to the public. 

 

Data

From the website: The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973.

Using a simple keyword search, Google discovers datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

United Nations - Office on Drugs and Crime

  • DATAUNODC 

    UNODC regularly provides global statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use.

BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice.

Provides datasets that can help guide the exploration and extension of research ideas for topics.

Get help if you need it.

Please send me an email with some dates and times, and a brief synopsis of where you have been looking and your top three search terms. Right now I am Zooming!
Kevin.Ketchner@nau.edu