Academic Research Resources - JLS 431C - Library Guide - Research Guides at Northern Arizona University

Article and journal databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database including citation and abstract indexing, full text access to many journals, and author profiles.

If your research topic aligns more with the social sciences, try these resources first:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.

If your research topic aligns more with natural sciences or public health, try these resources first:

ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of peer-reviewed journal articles and books for the sciences and social sciences.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.

If your research topic aligns more with the arts and humanities, try these resources first:

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from peer-reviewed journals covering the humanities and social sciences. Most journals in this collection are published by non-commercial publishers such as university presses and scholarly societies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Government and legal resources

LexisNexis (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.

Quick Search This link opens in a new window
Search across most journals, books, ebooks and more.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books, movies, and other materials in library catalogs from around the world.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses and publishers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)