Publishers
- Kegedonce Press - Indigenous owned and operated. Committed to the development, promotion, and publication of the work of Indigenous writers nationally and internationally.
- Theytus Books - First Nations owned and operated and a leading North American publisher of Indigenous voices.
- HighWater Press - An imprint of Portage & Main Press, publishes award-winning stories by emerging and established Indigenous writers.
-
Great Oak Press - Great Oak Press was founded in 2014 by the Pechanga Band of Indians.
-
Kamehameha Publishing - Hawaiian perspectives
-
Salina Bookshelf - Salina Bookshelf, founded in 1994 is an independent publisher of multicultural materials which includes textbooks, children’s picture books, children’s chapter books, informational texts, reference books, audio books and language learning materials. We specialize in dual language books in Navajo/English and Hopi/English, as well as textbooks used to teach Navajo language in schools.
-
Native Voices Books - 7th Generation is dedicated to publishing quality fiction and nonfiction titles for children and young adults.
Searching for books in the library
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and e-readers.
If you are exploring topics, use the Advanced Search option to search by Subject instead of a keyword search.
Subject heading examples:
American Indians
Indians of North America
Indigenous Peoples
Native Americans
Native North Americans
First Nations
Aboriginal Canadians
See also the Native American Heritage Collection
Course Reserves
If an item you need for class is not currently part of our collection, use the Course Reserves form to make a request
Searching for Indigenous authors
Citation chain: Indigenous researchers often reference other Indigenous researchers' work. Use the reference list of a source to find works by other cited authors. Web of science and Google Scholar are helpful tools for citation chaining.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
University and agency site searches are other strategies
Indigenous scholar profiles - examples of profiles from Web of Science
- Margaret KovachAn Indigenous scholar of Nêhiyaw and Saulteaux ancestry from Treaty Four, Saskatchewan and an enrolled member of Pasqua First Nation.
- Frank K LakeIndigenous research ecologist
- Gregory A Cajetehttps://nas.unm.edu/people/faculty/cajete-gregory.html