Recommended Resources - IH 685 - Graduate Research - Research Guides at Northern Arizona University

Article and Journal Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles for psychology research.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and book chapters relevant to the field of psychology, behavioral sciences, and mental health.
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycTESTS provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Article database covering the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the EBSCO interface with the option to search across multiple EBSCO databases.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This version utilizes the OVID interface.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a massive, open access database from the National Institutes of Health containing free peer-reviewed publications across the fields of medicine and health sciences.

Citation Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles spanning the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Indexing goes back to 1900. This database can also search for articles that cite a particular work or author. Formerly called Web of Knowledge.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings spanning the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. For an alternative, try Web of Science.

Google Scholar (via Cline Library)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

MEDLINE, PubMed and PMC

MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

Article and Journal Databases

Citation Databases

Google Scholar (via Cline Library)

MEDLINE, PubMed and PMC

Research Help