Skip to main content

FOR 323W - Semester B

4. Search these websites.

CIA World Factbook - https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

What is it? The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and other transnational issues for 267 world entities.

How would you use it? Select your country from the dropdown list:


Climate Action Tracker: https://climateactiontracker.org/countries/

What is it? The Climate Action Tracker tracks different countries climate actions and measures them against the globally agreed Paris Agreement aim of "holding warming well below 2°C, and pursuing efforts to limit warming to 1.5°C." It also quantifies and evaluates climate change mitigation commitments and assesses whether countries are on track to meeting those.

How would you use it? Use the search tool in the upper right to look up your country.


Climate Watch: https://www.climatewatchdata.org/

What is it?  Climate Watch brings together datasets to let users analyze and compare the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement, access historical emissions data, discover how countries can leverage their climate goals to achieve their sustainable development objectives, and use models to map new pathways to a lower carbon, prosperous future. It also includes data and visualizations on all countries’ greenhouse gas emissions.

How would you use it?  Use the search box to look up words like forests, forestry, deforestation, forest management, etc. in conjunction with your country name -- such as: forests India. Or, just try looking up your country name on its own to see what you find.


Environment Live - Science and Data for People: https://environmentlive.unep.org/

What is it? A division of UNEP (United Nations Environmental Program) that provides environmental assessments, data and information for sustainable development. It monitors, analyzes and reports on the state of the global environment, assesses global and regional environmental policies and trends and provides early warning of emerging environmental threats. 

How would you use it?  Enter your country name in the search box and explore the results or, just above the search box, select Assessments, World Data, or Sustainable Development Goals. All three provide options for searching your country.


Forest Atlases: https://www.wri.org/our-work/project/forest-atlases

What is it?​ This site allows users to visualize and analyze data on forest change and land cover -- including: land data (maps of forest cover, vegetation, cities, roads, hydrography, etc.), land use data (maps showing how land is allocated), and change data, including fire and tree cover loss alert systems. 

How would you use it?  Explore the site by country, data, or publications.


Global Forest Watchhttps://www.globalforestwatch.org/  

What is it? Global Forest Watch provides data and tools for monitoring forests including current information about where and how forests are changing around the world.

How would you use it? Click "More" in the upper right corner, then enter a search on your country. Or, use the "Explore our data" button on the home page, then navigate to country-specific data in the upper left: 


Global Forest Watch - Climate: https://climate.globalforestwatch.org/

What is it? This is a mapping platform that provides a benchmark for measuring countries’ emissions and tracking progress toward meeting emissions-reduction goals. It also features data and analysis tools that allow researchers to access information about carbon emissions from deforestation.

How would you use it? Click "Select a Country" on the home page to look up your country.


IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: https://www.ipcc.ch/

What is it? This is a United Nations organization dedicated to assessing the science related to climate change.

How would you use it? Try looking up words like forests, forestrydeforestation, forest management, etc. - or look up types of forests (like rainforests), etc. to see what general information you can find on how climate change is affecting forests. You can also try adding your country name to some of your searches -- such as: forests India.


IUCN - International Union for the Conservation of Nature: https://www.iucn.org/

What is it? This is a membership union composed of both government and civil society organizations that collaborate to collect data on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it.

How would you use it? Use the search tool in the upper right to look up words like forests, forestry, or deforestation, forest management, etc. or look up types of forests (like rainforests) -- or even particular types of trees, biomes, or ecosystems.


IUFRO- International Union of Forest Research Organizations: https://www.iufro.org/

What is it? A global network of scientists who participate in forest research and specifically the well-being of forests and the people who depend on them.

How would you use it? Try keyword searches on the website, or use the drop-down menu to browse publications. You can also search the publications library: https://iuf.dabis.org/PSI/init.psi. Good keyword searches might include climate change, global warming, etc. -- and/or try the name of your country.


NASA Earth Observatory: https://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/

What is it? The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about the environment, Earth systems, and climate that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and models.

How would you use it? Use the magnifying glass icon in the upper left to look up words like forests, forestry, or deforestation, forest management, etc. or types of forests (like rainforests) -- or even particular types of trees, biomes, or ecosystems. You can also try adding your country name to some of your searches -- such as: forests India.


NASA Earth Observatory Global Fire Maps: https://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/global-maps/MOD14A1_M_FIRE

What is it? Provides fire maps showing the locations of actively burning fires around the world on a monthly basis, based on observations from the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) on NASA's Terra satellite.

How would you use it? You can explore the maps and/or download fire data.


OpenEI: https://openei.org/wiki/Main_Page

What is it?  Open Energy Information (OpenEI) is a website for policy makers, researchers, technology investors, venture capitalists, and market professionals with energy data, information, analyses, tools, images, maps, and other resources

How would you use it?  Use the search box in the center of the page to look up your country or forestry keywords, or use the links as the top left to explore Information and Data.


ResourceWatch: https://resourcewatch.org/

What is it?  This website provides data and data visualization capabilities for topics ranging from climate change to human migration, deforestation to air quality, agriculture to energy and much more. Users can dive into curated topic pages of data, explore near real-time visualizations and create their own unique data visualizations by overlaying individual data sets.

How would you use it?  Click the link to Explore data, then enter a country name and/or experiment with the same forestry keywords noted elsewhere on this page. Or, use the dropdown menu to explore by Topic:


UN Sustainability Goals: https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/progress-report/

What is it? The Sustainable Development Goals are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and improve the lives and prospects of everyone, everywhere. The 17 Goals were adopted by all UN Member States in 2015, as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development which set out a 15-year plan to achieve the Goals. Action to meet the Goals is not yet advancing at the speed or scale required. 2020 needs to usher in a decade of ambitious action to deliver the Goals by 2030.

How would you use it? Gather background information by referring to the Sustainable Development Goals Report: https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/progress-report/. Or, check the resources available on the page for Goal 13: Climate Actionhttps://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/climate-change/. Or, try running searches on the site (the same types of searches suggested for the other websites on this page).


UNEP Open Data: http://open.unep.org/

What is it?  Allows you to search for UNEP (United Nations Environmental Program) sponsored environmental projects, including planning and implementation documents associated with the project.  

How would you use it?  Search by country, click on a project, then use the tabs to explore aspects of the project:


World Bank Carbon Pricing Dashboard: https://carbonpricingdashboard.worldbank.org/

What is it? Carbon Pricing Dashboard is an interactive online platform that provides up-to-date information on existing and emerging carbon pricing initiatives around the world.

How would you use it? Explore maps and data or resources:

 


World Bank Climate Knowledge Portal: https://climateknowledgeportal.worldbank.org/country-profiles

What is it? Provides global data on historical and future climate vulnerabilities and impacts. 

How would you use it?  Use the links to country and country profiles to explore resources.


World Bank Open Data: https://data.worldbank.org/

What is it? Provides free and open access to global development data -- including data about climate change and the environment.

How would you use it? Enter keywords into the search box or browse by country or indicator.


WWF - World Wildlife Fund: https://www.worldwildlife.org/publications?initiative_id=science

What is it? A leading conservation organization that works at every level from local to global, and produces important reports on the status of nature, conservation, species, etc.

How would you use it?  Use the search box at the top of the page to look up words like forests, forestry, or deforestation, forest management, etc.or types of forests (like rainforests) -- or even particular types of trees, biomes, or ecosystems. You can also try adding your country name to some of your searches -- such as: forests India.