Skip to main content

FOR 323W - Semester B

3. Search these databases.

1. Google - Searching Google first will allow you to collect some general information just to get you familiar with your topic. Also, try Google Advanced SearchUsing Google Advanced Search allows you to limit to a dot.gov, dot.int, or dot.org domains, which is likely to return more credible results.


2. Google Scholar - This is Google's specialized search for finding scholarly (a.k.a. peer-reviewed) articles.


3. CAB Abstracts This database is chock full of peer-reviewed articles about forestry topics. You might also consider adding Web of Science and BIOSIS into your search as well, as shown below.


4. EBSCO Databases - There are several databases from this company that could be useful to search for forest, climate, or policy information. You can search them individually or all at once. Here are the links to search them individually:

To search them all at once, click on any one of them above, then click Choose Databases:

And then select everything if you like, or else choose the individual databases listed above.


5. Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection - This is a cross-disciplinary database of journal articles, government reports, and other sources. It includes forestry content as well as environmental science, climate science, etc. 


6. Compendex - This is technically a database of engineering articles, but there's tons of interesting stuff on forest management and climate change - particularly from a technology perspective.


7. Quick Search - This is the search box on Cline Library's home page. When you run searches, make sure you use the option on the left to Expand My Results: