Try Document Delivery Services. NAU students, faculty, and staff can request books and articles that we don't own. We will get them from another library at no charge to you! *Textbooks typically are not available from DDS.
NAU faculty can request that we add a book to our collection. Suggest a purchase online and we may be able to buy a copy.
To search for print or ebooks, start on the library's homepage: nau.edu/library.
Enter your search into the Quick Search
Using the limiters on the left-hand side, select Books under Material Type. You may need to select Show More to find the books option
For print books, select Available in the library under Availability. NOTE: This will limit your search results to books available in the library right now. Books that are checked out will not appear.
Locate the Call Number under the record. That's what you need to find the book in the library!
For ebooks, select Full Text Online under Availability.
Select the Full Text link in order to read the book in your browser. You may be able to download chapters, but you will not be able to download the entire book to your device.
Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management by Jeffrey W. HerrmannIIE/Joint Publishers Book of the Year Award 2016! Awarded for 'an outstanding published book that focuses on a facet of industrial engineering, improves education, or furthers the profession'. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management emphasizes practical issues and examples of decision making with applications in engineering design and management Featuring a blend of theoretical and analytical aspects, this book presents multiple perspectives on decision making to better understand and improve risk management processes and decision-making systems. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management uniquely presents and discusses three perspectives on decision making: problem solving, the decision-making process, and decision-making systems. The author highlights formal techniques for group decision making and game theory and includes numerical examples to compare and contrast different quantitative techniques. The importance of initially selecting the most appropriate decision-making process is emphasized through practical examples and applications that illustrate a variety of useful processes. Presenting an approach for modeling and improving decision-making systems, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management also features: Theoretically sound and practical tools for decision making under uncertainty, multi-criteria decision making, group decision making, the value of information, and risk management Practical examples from both historical and current events that illustrate both good and bad decision making and risk management processes End-of-chapter exercises for readers to apply specific learning objectives and practice relevant skills A supplementary website with instructional support material, including worked solutions to the exercises, lesson plans, in-class activities, slides, and spreadsheets An excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management is appropriate for courses on decision analysis, decision making, and risk management within the fields of engineering design, operations research, business and management science, and industrial and systems engineering. The book is also an ideal reference for academics and practitioners in business and management science, operations research, engineering design, systems engineering, applied mathematics, and statistics.
Publication Date: 2015-03-19
Applied Reliability Engineering and Risk Analysis by Ilia B. Frenkel; Alex Karagrigoriou; Anatoly Lisnianski; Andre V. KleynerThis complete resource on the theory and applications of reliability engineering, probabilistic models and risk analysis consolidates all the latest research, presenting the most up-to-date developments in this field. With comprehensive coverage of the theoretical and practical issues of both classic and modern topics, it also provides a unique commemoration to the centennial of the birth of Boris Gnedenko, one of the most prominent reliability scientists of the twentieth century. Key features include: expert treatment of probabilistic models and statistical inference from leading scientists, researchers and practitioners in their respective reliability fields detailed coverage of multi-state system reliability, maintenance models, statistical inference in reliability, systemability, physics of failures and reliability demonstration many examples and engineering case studies to illustrate the theoretical results and their practical applications in industry Applied Reliability Engineering and Risk Analysis is one of the first works to treat the important areas of degradation analysis, multi-state system reliability, networks and large-scale systems in one comprehensive volume. It is an essential reference for engineers and scientists involved in reliability analysis, applied probability and statistics, reliability engineering and maintenance, logistics, and quality control. It is also a useful resource for graduate students specialising in reliability analysis and applied probability and statistics. Dedicated to the Centennial of the birth of Boris Gnedenko, renowned Russian mathematician and reliability theorist
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Reliability Engineering by Kailash C. KapurAn Integrated Approach to Product Development Reliability Engineering presents an integrated approach to the design, engineering, and management of reliability activities throughout the life cycle of a product, including concept, research and development, design, manufacturing, assembly, sales, and service. Containing illustrative guides that include worked problems, numerical examples, homework problems, a solutions manual, and class-tested materials, it demonstrates to product development and manufacturing professionals how to distribute key reliability practices throughout an organization. The authors explain how to integrate reliability methods and techniques in the Six Sigma process and Design for Six Sigma (DFSS). They also discuss relationships between warranty and reliability, as well as legal and liability issues. Other topics covered include: Reliability engineering in the 21st Century Probability life distributions for reliability analysis Process control and process capability Failure modes, mechanisms, and effects analysis Health monitoring and prognostics Reliability tests and reliability estimation Reliability Engineering provides a comprehensive list of references on the topics covered in each chapter. It is an invaluable resource for those interested in gaining fundamental knowledge of the practical aspects of reliability in design, manufacturing, and testing. In addition, it is useful for implementation and management of reliability programs.