Nexis Uni - CCJ 380 - Library Guide - Research Guides at Northern Arizona University

Legal databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database that features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Content includes resources such as The New York Times, company profiles, and SEC filings.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
An expansive archive of materials relating to indigenous law, including hundreds of treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, and more.
HeinOnline’s Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law* was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that indigenous peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States of America. With nearly 3,800 titles and more than 1.5 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historic materials. Included in the database are hundreds of treaties, treaty-related publications, tribal codes, constitutions, federal case law, government reports, scholarly works, and the entirety of Title 25 (Indians) of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.

*Formerly known as the American Indian Law Collection.

Google Scholar is a non-legal resource but offers a quick way to access citations for some legal and government documents that are available online.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.

Additional resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. See coverage below.
- The New York Times (1980-present)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
- Washington Post (1987-present)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

Shepard's® - citator system

The Shepard's® Citations Service available in Nexis Uni^® provides a comprehensive report of the cases, statutes, secondary sources, and annotations that cite your authority, including more recent cases that rely on your starting case. When researching and citing cases, make sure the case is valid and citable. By Shepardizing a case, you can determine whether the case is still "good law."

Search Tip:

To Shepardize a case or document:

Type shep followed by a colon (:) in the Search box, followed by the document citation. For example:

shep: 118 us 356

Click Search.

Shepard's Signal indicators and treatments

Research Help

Schedule an appointment
Schedule a 15 or 30 minute virtual appointment with the subject librarian.
Send an email
Email the subject librarian.