A Reckoning in Boston by James Rutenbeck: Monday, November 8th, 2021
NAU’s Liberal Arts Building, room 120
5:00 p.m.Live Screening and 7:00p.m. Conversation with the Filmmakers:
Kafi Dixon, Executive Director, Women of Color Rural & Urban Farmer Co
A Reckoning in Boston looks behind the curtain of Boston's glittery “reinvention” as a liberal city to see how gentrification affects its low income and suffering African American communities. Delving into the lives of members of an inner city night course, A Reckoning in Boston follows the stories of Kafi Dixon and Carl Chandler, students that sparked community organization and took their education to the next level of activism. Filmed, narrated, and viewed through the perspective of James Rutenbeck, the film asks what a city is supposed to provide to its people, and what is it taking away? .
NAU Broadband/Wi-Fi Resources for off Mountain Campus Viewing
These parking lot hotspots are open to students from any K12 and college institution and will provide internet access for any mobile device, including laptops and smartphones.
View NAU’s Wi-Fi hotspot map.
For more information, contact the Office of Native American Initiatives at 928-523-3849
A Reckoning in Boston: The Documentary
In a rigorous tuition-free night course, Carl Chandler and Kafi Dixon study art, literature, history and philosophy and find themselves transformed by the experience. But is their newly found sense of agency strong enough to deflect the inequities of wealth, health and race in a rapidly gentrifying city? Documentary Educational Resources
There is a showing on Monday, November 8 at 5 PM in LA 120
Followed by a Conversation with the Filmmakers at 7 PM in LA 120 .
Conversation with the Filmmakers at 7:00p.m. With Kafi Dixon Executive Director, Women of Color Rural & Urban Farmer Cooperative/The Common Good Project; CEO of Seeds of Change Solidarity Network; Co-producer, A Reckoning in Boston and James Rutenbeck Founder of Lost Nation Films; Director of A Reckoning in Boston
Recommended Resources From Comparative Cultural Studies
The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions. EPI believes every working person deserves a good job with fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement security.
Films on Demand is a database that provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
Cline Library Databases:
JSTOR: Database of articles from scholarly journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
SAGE Premier: New content will no longer be updated as of January 1, 2021. Previously published content will still be available.Database of full text journal articles relevant for the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine. Only includes journals published by Sage.
Academic Search Complete: Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database that includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text: Database for sociology research, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations.
Google Scholar: Search the web for articles, books, theses, and other sources spanning many disciplines. Many results will be from scholarly sources. Access full-text articles from your search by selecting the FullText@NAU link. To see the FullText@NAU links in Google Scholar from any computer anywhere, link your Google Scholar account to NAU.
Business Source Premier: Database of full-text articles covering business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Regional Business News: Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.