Skip to main content

PBC Library

The NAU library website for the Phoenix Biomedical Campus Library

Search Tools

A banner image of pubmed and it's different sites


​PubMed is a massively comprehensive medical database maintained by the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. It covers the entire spectrum of health science subjects as well as healthcare policy, community health, and administration. 

It's recommended that scholars and practitioners make use of the complete PubMed platform, which can be accessed at either of the two URLs:

Aside from the major search tool, students can also use the Clinical Queries search to find information restricted to clinical studies, systematic reviews, and medical genetics:

  Advanced Search

Books at PBC Library

As an integrated facility serving two universities, PBC Library houses physical collections purchased by both Northern Arizona University (NAU) and University of Arizona (UA) to support PBC programs.  Students in any PBC program may check out any of our 1,000 items.

Our physical collections are displayed together in UA's online catalog at ahsl.arizona.edu

Our electronic collections (e-books) are displayed in separate catalogs:


eBook Databases: 

Finding Visual Media at NAU:

NAU hosts a number of streaming media sites as well as image collections. Other than MEDLINE Plus, all video streaming sites require login with NAU credentials. 

In addition to searching each database individually, NAU affiliates can also locate streaming movies (and music) from the search box on the NAU Libraries' homepage: http://nau.edu/library.


Video Streaming:


Image Collections:

About PBC Library's Anatomical Models:

PBC Library hosts an extensive collection of advanced, anatomical models available for student and faculty use. If you'd like to checkout one of the models, please keep in mind:

  • Models are only available during staffed hours for in-library use only
  • Please inform front-desk staff if you'd like to remove a model from the shelf
    • Staff can also help you access the models stored off-shelf
  • All models must be checked out at the front desk before use
  • The complete PBC Library Anatomical Models Policy can be found here

NOTE: For a complete list of all models, please see the PBC Library Anatomical Models List.


Acland's Video Atlas Logo

Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy presents dissections of unembalmed human bodies, allowing access to specific content through indexes and keyword searches. The specimens rotate relative to the camera, giving a three-dimensional view.


You can also see how our models function by visiting PBC Library's Anatomical Models Youtube Playlist:

Loading ...

Instructional Support

Teaching support

Bring an information expert into any of your PBC classes to effectively teach students how to find, critically evaluate, and use information. Request a library instruction session by contacting catherine lockmiller and/or filling out the Library Instruction Request Form.

Instruction can come in many forms, but here are a select few specific options:

Effective search in PubMed | 80 minutes
  • navigate MyNCBI
  • develop an advanced search query
  • make efficient use of search tools
  • break down PubMed citations
  • make use of Clinical Queries search
  • save searches for later use
Align PICO & search strategy | 60 minutes
  • break down PICO questions into searches
  • understand levels of evidence
  • understand clinical domains and study designs
Background and foreground information | 20 minutes
  • learn the difference between background and foreground information
  • when, where, and how to look for background information
Strategic citation management | 60 minutes
  • learn to use RefWorks and Zotero
  • import references from databases
  • integrate RefWorks into Microsoft Word and Google Docs
Publication types | 40 minutes
  • define review types
  • identify clinical study designs
  • understand open-access and traditional publishing models
  • find specific journals and study types in PubMed
Make the most of MeSH | 40 minutes
  • learn to use the MeSH database
  • break down the MeSH terms
  • understand Automatic Term Mapping (ATM) in PubMed
Health disparities research | 60 minutes
  • define health and healthcare disparities
  • recognize the value of cultural competencies in EBP
  • find best evidence for working with specific populations
  • identify public and community health literacy tools
Order off menu! | 20 - 180 minutes
  • Contact the librarian to build a course that best fits your specific class needs!

NOTE: for a visual rendition of this menu, please click the link to the PBC Library Course Menu.

PBC Library offers support for online classes

As NAU has increased its online and blended course offerings, librarians have also increased their support for the development of research skills, critical thinking, and student learning in the online environment.

Course reserves

  • Digitized streaming media
    • PBC Library can create digitized copies of university owned media. The content will be available to your students through BBLearn.
  • Electronic reserves
    • PBC Library can digitize copies of articles, book chapters and other print resources. The content will then be available to your students through BBLearn.
    • NOTE: when beginning the electronic reserves process, please fill out the Reserves Request Form.
  • Find electronic reading and media
    • Your PBC librarian can teach you to identify useful online resources available from the library, such as journal articles and streaming video, and teach you how to find alternatives if needed.

Integrating research skills into assignments

Your PBC librarian can review course assignments to identify and incorporate research and critical thinking skills into your class. i can work with you to:

  • Think through an assignment from a research skills perspective
  • Verify if resources needed to complete the assignment are available through the Cline or PBC Library
  • Develop curricula and learning exercises for your class that strengthen the skills of your students
  • Encourage your students to talk to a librarian before they start a research assignment
  • Create course guides

Course guides

Your PBC librarian can work with you to direct students to the best resources for successfully completing assignments, along with instructional elements on how to most effectively use those resources. i can work with instructors to build guides tailored to the needs of specific courses. These can then be linked directly in BBLearn.

Create tutorials

i can work with instructors to build tutorials tailored to the needs of a course. Tutorials will enable students to learn about a particular research skill or concept, how to use a library resource, or think critically about information.

PBC Library teaching support

Your PBC librarian provides course-related research instruction for all courses at PBC. In order to ensure the best experience for your students i request the following:

  • Plan to request instruction sessions 14 days in advance.
  • Plan to attend the library instruction session with your students.
  • Send the library research assignment to the librarian at least seven days in advance.

Instruction request form

Please fill out the following form for all library instruction requests, including online teaching support. As always, do not hesitate to call, email, or visit if you have any questions!

 

Loading ...