Skip to main content

Allied and Rural Health Resources in Special Collections and Archives: Home

Librarian

Try searching our digital archives for online access to photographs, documents, and oral histories. Search Arizona Archives Online for full inventories/finding guides to physical collections housed in SCA, in addition to other repositories across the state. Sample searches: public health nurses, hospitals, Indians of North America--Medical care. See also the Library catalog for allied and rural health resource materials housed in Cline Library.

 

Oral History Collections

Many of the oral histories discuss the experience of Hispanic-American men and women with doctors, health care, mid-wives, and home health remedies. Los Recuerdos del Barrio en Flagstaff Collection Guide available online.

Also: visit the Los Recuerdos del Barrio en Flagstaff exhibit web site.

Manuscript and Photographic Collections

  • Barker, Florence Collection, NAU.MS.10; NAU.PH.226

Finding aid / Digital content

This collection depicts Florence Barker's life as a Plymouth Brethren Missionary Nurse for the Navajo Reservation, Emanuel Mission, AZ, 1911-1914; Valentine, AZ, Hualapai reservation, 1922-1932; Supai, AZ, Havasupai Reservation, 1932-1939; Acoma and Laguna Reservations, New Mexico, 1938-1960.

  • Virginia Brown, Ida Bahl, and Lillian Watson Collection, 1922-1994, NAU.MS.269; NAU.PH.92.14

Finding aid / Digital content

This collection offers insights into facets of public health nursing and life on Native American reservations. The bulk of this collection pertains to the Navajo tribe and dates from the 1950s and 1960s.

  • Veronica Evaneshko Collection, NAU.MS.344; NAU.PH.2003.19

Finding aid / Digital content

The collection consists of published resources on diabetes, especially related to the Navajo, medical reports on other tribes are also included. There is data on all aspects of American Indian health, such as culture mores and sanctions, and how to introduce Western medicine by mixing the traditional and the "contemporary." The majority of the collection includes many teaching tutorials and weight management guides for communities.

  • Milton Hospital patient register, 1916-1919 AHS-ND 101

Finding aid

Milton Hospital became the company medical facility of the Arizona Lumber and Timber Company (AL and T) in 1910. It had originally been the home of Fred W. Sisson, a manager of the Arizona Lumber and Timber Company. The hospital was renamed Mercy Hospital in 1921 and closed in the 1930s, following the establishment of the modern Flagstaff Hospital.